Recipe: Healthy Homeade Juice

Hey guys,

So recently, I’ve been trying to be healthier and loose weight sensibly, by choosing my meals more carefully and paying attention to my sugar.

I’ve found that trying to pick meals that are balanced can be quite tricky, and with me being a vegetarian who sometimes eats chicken, but doesn’t eat eggs or fish it can be hard to eat a breakfast including protein. Personally, I’m not a fan of plain old yogurt with a sprinkle of granola, to be honest I find it quite bland and it really doesn’t fill me up.

However, I’ve found out how to make homemade juice, probably the best discovery for me. It takes literally no time to make which makes  it perfect for school days, it fills me up, keeps me going and full of energy, so I’m not falling asleep in first period.

Basic ingredients:

1 Carrot

1 Celery

1 Ripe Apple

1 Ripe Banana

1 handful of green leaves (e.g. kale, spinach, rocket, any will do)

1 cup water (this is optional depending on how thick/thin you want it to be)

Those are your basic ingredients to make a delicious smoothie, if you have more fruit or veg at home, experiment with it and add what you like, it took me a while to experiment and find a recipe I really liked. Don’t add too much to the juice because it will make too much and will start to taste and look a bit  bland due to all the flavour. Also, flaxseed and linseed will give you minerals and vitamins and you don’t even taste them in the shake!

I chop all my ingredients into small chunks about the same size, and put them into a big plastic jug, I then get my hand held blender and blend for about 3 minutes! I then pour into a glass and drink it. (you could use a normal jug type blender too- just keep pulsing it until you get your desired texture)

This shake makes me feel really good because I have had my 5 a day already and I got a well balanced breakfast!

Peace out.

Dreaming In Summer ♥

Leave a Reply

